Tougher distracted driving rules in effect

Tougher penalties are now in effect for drivers in New York State caught using their cellphones while driving. Young and new drivers caught texting or using a cellphone without a hands-free device

News 12 Staff

Nov 3, 2014, 6:06 PM

Updated 3,549 days ago

Share:

Tougher penalties are now in effect for drivers in New York State caught using their cellphones while driving.
Young and new drivers caught texting or using a cellphone without a hands-free device face a 120-day license suspension. A second offense will lead to a year-long suspension.
More experienced motorists with also face steeper fines for repeat offenses. Currently, drivers found to be using a hand-held phone twice within an 18-month period are fined $200. As of Saturday, the penalty will increase to $250.
The $50 fine for a first offense will remain unchanged.
Gov. Andrew Cuomo says driving habits develop early, and the tougher penalties will remind younger drivers that texting while driving is unsafe and unacceptable.
AP wires were used in this report


More from News 12