Orange County 911 dispatchers and supervisors honored for bus crash response

Orange County's 911 dispatchers and supervisors were recognized on Tuesday for their work saving lives in September when a bus full of band students crashed on Interstate 84 in Wawayanda.
The dispatchers were honored with meritorious service awards, which County Executive Steve Neuhaus created in 2018 to celebrate the first responders who keep people in the county safe.
“The call volume on the day of the Farmingdale bus crash was heavy, but as always, our 911 dispatchers remained calm and collected,” Neuhaus said. “They played an integral role in the response to the emergency and I am proud of the work that these men and women conduct every day. I thank our 911 dispatchers for their quick thinking and commend them for the effort that they put forth and the pride that they take in serving Orange County residents.”
The crash left 45 people hurt and killed the Farmingdale High School band director and a cherished chaperone.
“Daily, the 911 Emergency Communications staff of Orange County Department of Emergency Services works behind the scenes with little to no fanfare,” Commissioner of Emergency Services Peter J. Cirigliano II said. “Public recognition is not what they desire, rather their sense of passion truly lies in helping others, and for that, I am sincerely thankful for their service to Orange County. I commend them all for their outstanding performance during an extremely difficult and trying time.”
OC 911 Dispatchers/Supervisors:
Dispatcher Valerie Starace – SO Dispatcher
Dispatcher Kelly Lopez – Police Priority Dispatcher
Dispatcher Amy Doty – PD South Resp Desk – Moved to assist EMS dispatcher.
Dispatcher Ezra Kuliszewski – Fire/EMS Dispatcher
Dispatcher Deborah Schweikart – Fire Dispatcher
Dispatcher Brad Dain – EMS Dispatcher
Dispatcher Carrie Sager – Call-taking Dispatcher
Dispatcher Richard Pearson – Call-taking Dispatcher
Dispatcher Marc Roe – Call-taking Dispatcher
Dispatcher Matthew Murray – Call-taking Dispatcher (Relief)
Dispatcher Matthew Kahlke – Fire Dispatcher
Dispatch Trainer Angela Hicks – Backfilled Police Dispatch
Supervisor William Babcock III – B-Line 911 Supervisor
Supervisor Darren Hoffman – Training Supervisor, assisted EMS Dispatch
Supervisor Jeremy Swingle – GIS Supervisor, assisted EMS Dispatch
Supervisor Max Dugal – Assisted Police Dispatch, C-Line Supervisor