Historic Lent House torn down after 263 years
A historic house that stood in Orangetown for more than two centuries has been torn down.
The Lent House, which was built 263 years ago, was demolished by its owners on Saturday
The Dutch colonial, which sits on South Greenbush Road, was built in 1752 by former Town Supervisor Abram Lent.
Though it had a rich history, it was never listed on any national or state historic registry.
Last year, the owners of the one-acre property agreed to lease it to a developer who has plans to expand the Orangeburg Commons shopping center on Route 303. To make that deal, they agreed to demolish the Lent House.
The owners received the proper permits and waited a year for the Historical Society to remove the house from the property, but they never came up with the money to do so.
Last weekend, the owners took matters into their own hands, and without any notice, tore the house down as the conservationists watched with great disappointment.