New York state cracking down on drivers who don’t pay taxes
YONKERS - New York state is cracking down on drivers who don’t pay their taxes by threatening to suspend driver’s licenses.
A new law states that if someone owes more than $10,000 in back taxes, they could see their driving privileges suspended.
Gov. Andrew Cuomo said the new law has motivated many people to pay up, as more than $56 million has been added to state coffers. He expects to raise millions more.
READ MORE: Transportation Stories
State officials say residents have 60 days after receiving a notice to pay their tax bill. A second notice will be sent out if they don’t, giving them an additional 15 days.
Licenses will suspended after those 15 days are up.