NEW YORK - Gov. Andrew Cuomo has declared a state of emergency for parts of New York as a winter storm moves through the region.

Cuomo issued the state of emergency for the following counties: Suffolk, Nassau, Richmond, Kings, Queens, New York, Bronx, Westchester and Rockland.

“This winter storm will bring a one-two punch of snow and extreme cold. I urge all those in the affected regions to exercise caution, and avoid travel if possible,” Cuomo said.

A winter storm warning remains in effect for the region through early Wednesday morning.